Announcing the 2017 Herb Alpert Award Panelists


“We are delighted to celebrate the Herb Alpert Award’s 23rd anniversary,” says Rona Sebastian, President of the Herb Alpert Foundation. “Each year the Award recognizes five visionary mid-career artists who expand their fields as well as our horizons. We believe that championing the arts, individual artists, and arts education – from early childhood through professional development – has profound social, cultural, and personal impact. This is at the core of the Foundation’s interests.”


Olga Garay-English, independent arts consultant, Los Angeles

Ralph Lemon, artist, Herb Alpert Award winner, Brooklyn, NY  

Carla Peterson, director, Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography, Tallahassee, FL


Erin Christovale, curator, Los Angeles Municipal Art Gallery, Black Radical Imagination, Los Angeles  

Stephen Gong, executive director, Center for Asian American Media, San Francisco  

Leslie Thornton, artist, Herb Alpert Award winner, New York


John King, composer, Herb Alpert Award winner, New York

Tania León, composer-conductor, founder and artistic director, Composers Now, Nyack, NY

Nicole Mitchell, composer, improviser, Herb Alpert Award winner, Long Beach, CA


Kristy Edmunds, executive and artistic director, Center for the Art of Performance at UCLA, Los Angeles 

Tom Sellar, editor, Theater magazine, and professor, Yale School of Drama, New Haven, CT and Brooklyn, NY 

Meiyin Wang, curator and producer, Berkeley, CA


Emily Jacir, artist, Herb Alpert Award winner, Rome, Italy and Bethlehem, Palestine

Joan Simon, independent curator, writer, arts administrator, Santa Monica, CA

Claire Tancons, curator, writer, researcher based in New Orleans, works in situ


Short Film on Herb Alpert Award in the Arts