Residency Prizes

In the spirit of the partnership between The Herb Alpert Foundation and CalArts, the Herb Alpert Award has developed collaborative relationships with four residency programs, all of whom honor and support talented artists, and their forays into the unknown.

Herb Alpert/MacDowell Fellowship

Founded in 1907 and situated on 450 woodland acres in Peterborough, New Hampshire, the MacDowell Colony, the most distinguished and oldest artist colony in America, is known for the talent and mix of its artists. Fellows include architects, composers, film and video makers, writers and interdisciplinary and visual artists. There are 32 private studios assigned according to the work proposed.

Recommended by HAAIA panels in their discipline and chosen by MacDowell panelists



Sky Hopinka, Ferndale, WA

Stanya Kahn, Los Angeles

William E. Jones, Los Angeles

Jennifer Reeder, Hammond, IN



Margaret Honda, Los Angeles


Cassils, Los Angeles



Dayna Hanson, Seattle, WA


Jennifer Maytorena Taylor, San Francisco, CA

JP Sniadecki, Evanston, IL

Christopher Harris, Oviedo, FL


Ethan Lipton, Delhi, NY

Shontina Vernon, Seattle, WA


Herb Alpert/Ragdale Prize

Located in Lake Forest, Illinois, one hour north of Chicago, Ragdale is the fourth largest artist community in the country, serving 200 writers, visual artists and composers a year. Housed in the 1897 buildings which were Chicago architect Howard Van Doren Shaw's summer home, Ragdale is known for its combination of welcoming domestic spaces, open prairie and supportive artistic community. Twelve residents at a time enjoy uninterrupted time in which to think, renew and create new work away from the demands of daily life.

Selected by the HAAIA Music panel


David First, New York

Ingrid Laubrock, New York

Cory Smythe, New York


Sam Newsome, New York

Nate Wooley, Brooklyn, NY


Courtney Bryan, New Orleans, LA

David Rempis, Chicago, IL

Valerie Coleman, New York, NY


Herb Alpert/Ucross Residency Prize

Located on a 20,000-acre working cattle ranch in northeastern Wyoming, the Ucross Foundation is an internationally known retreat for artists, writers, and composers working in all creative disciplines. Founded in 1981, it provides living accommodations, studio space, uninterrupted time, and the experience of the extraordinary High Plains landscape to approximately 90 individuals each year. Ninety visual artists and composers have been supported by Herb Alpert/Ucross Residency Prizes during the past seventeen years. A recipient of the Wyoming Governor's Arts Award for Excellence in the Arts, Ucross aims to cast a reflection into the future from the cultural mirror of our lives and times.

Selected by respective HAAIA panels

2019 Music

Angélica Negrón, New York

Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah, Los Angeles

2018 Music

Andy Akiho, Princeton, NJ

Samita Sinha, Jackson Heights, NY

2017 Music

Taylor Ho Bynum, New Haven, CT

Annie Gosfield, New York, NY

2019 Visual Arts

William J. O'Brien, Chicago

Valeska Soares, New York

2018 Visual Arts

Edgar Arceneaux, Pasadena, CA

Andrea Geyer, New York

2017 Visual Arts

Matt Lucero, Fontana, CA

Carlos Motta, New York, NY


Alpert/Yaddo Residency Prize

Each year Yaddo welcomes over 220 talented individuals as residents, with visits ranging from two to eight weeks. A range of disciplines has always been represented in the Yaddo community, as well as artists at different stages in their careers.  Its historic property, located less than four hours from New York City, in Saratoga Springs, has both large and small structures for housing and studios, and is dotted with ponds, forest and walking paths. Yaddo opened its doors in 1900 and begin its formal residency program in 1926. Since then it has provided support and encouragement to artists through the gift of time and space, as well as through such initiatives as Aaron Copland’s Festivals of American Music.

Recommended by the AAIA Music panel and chosen by the Yaddo panelists.






Fay Victor, Brooklyn, NY


View attachment below to see previous colony prize recipients.