Announcing 2016 Herb Alpert Award Panelists!

“We are proud to celebrate the 22nd Anniversary of Herb Alpert Award in the Arts,” says Rona Sebastian, President of the Herb Alpert Foundation. “Each year the Award recognizes five extraordinary innovative mid–career artists who consistently take creative risks. Our work at the Foundation supports programs that offer arts education from early childhood through professional development based on the belief that each of us has a unique voice that can be explored through the arts and have personal transformation as well as societal impact.”

2016 Herb Alpert Award Panelists
Nora Chipaumire, choreographer, performer, 2012 Herb Alpert Award Winner, New York
Joanna Haigood, artistic director, Zaccho Dance Theatre, 1998 Herb Alpert Award Winner, San Francisco
Louise Steinman, writer/curator, ALOUD series, Library Foundation of Los Angeles, Los Angeles
Romi Crawford, associate professor, Visual and Critical Studies, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago
Alex Juhasz, professor of Media Studies, Pitzer College, Pasadena, CA
Astria Suparak, curator and artist, Pittsburgh, PA
Adam Fong, composer, and co–founder, Center for New Music, San Francisco
Myra Melford, composer, 2012 Herb Alpert Award Winner, professor, UC Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
Francisco Nuñez, conductor, composer, director, Young People’s Chorus of New York City, New York
Maria Goyanes, associate producer, The Public Theater, New York
Gideon Lester, director of Theatre Programs, Bard College, Annandale–on–Hudson, NY
Angela Mattox, artistic director, Portland Institute for Contemporary Art (PICA), Portland, OR
Helen Molesworth, chief curator, MOCA, Los Angeles
Eugenie Tsai, John and Barbara Vogelstein Curator of Contemporary Art, Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn, NY
Emily Zimmerman, associate curator of Programs, Henry Art Gallery, Seattle